Asmaul Husna (Phrase)

I.    PHRASE
One word or more that have a function in the sentence.
    
Kinds Of  Phrase
A.    Noun Phrase
B.    Adjective Phrase
C.    Adverb Phrase
D.    Verb Phrase

A.    Noun Phrase
A group of  word that does the work of a noun
1.    Forms of  noun phrase
a.    Noun
    May is a student
    Andi goes to my house

b.    Determine + noun
    The girl is beautiful
    A car is in the garage.

c.    Determine + adjective + noun
    A big house

d.    Gerund + Noun
    Writing table
    Cutting sticker

e.    Noun + Gerund
    Gold mining

f.    Noun + Noun
    John’s book has lost

g.    Determine + Gerund
    The meaning

h.    Noun + prepositional phrase
    Lecture in front of us

i.    Adjective + noun + prepositional
    Big boy in front of class

B.    Adjective Phrase
Is often just an adjective. There can be an adverb of degree infront of the adjective.
1.    Form of adjective phrase
a.    Adjective
    She is beautiful
b.    Adverb + adjective
    It is very long
c.    Past participle
    The accident was frightened
d.    Present participle
    I do my home work

2.    Function of adjective phrase
a.    Adjective phrase head
    I am very cute
b.    Noun phrase modifier
    The tiny baby was born prematurely
c.    Subject complement
    Christmas cookies smell delicious
d.    Object complement
    Doing this makes me crazy

C.    Adverb Phrase
Is often just an adverb. There can be an adverb of degree infront of the adverb.

1.    Forms of adverb phrase
a.    Verb
    I write a letter

b.    Adverb
    Rani walk very slowly
    He reads very quickly

c.    Adjective
    She is very beautiful
    Her bag less good

2.    Function of adverb phrase
a.    Adverb as adjective phrase modifier
    The boldly brave toddler climbed on to the table
    Your newborn baby daughter is very tiny

b.    Adverb as adverb phrase modifiers
    The music from next door is blaring extremely loudly
    Olympic runners can sprint very quickly

c.    Adverb as verb phrase modifiers
    My pets wake promptly at sunrise
    Do not eat in the library

d.    Adverb as adverbials
    The new mother looked at her new baby odoringly

e.    Adverb as adjunctive
    Do you like to write about grammar, too?

3.    Kinds of adverb phrase
a.    Adverb of time
    I read a book yesterday
    She will come tomorrow

b.    Adverb of place
    I ride my motorcycle on the street
    I stayed at home

c.    Adverb of manner
    I walk slowly
    She speak quickly

d.    Adverb of degree
    She walks rather slowly
    He writes quite slowly

e.    Adverb of number
    I read a book twice a day
    Intan always eat meatball

f.    Interrogative adverb
    When do you walk?
    Where do you ride car?

g.    Relative adverb
    I know how he go
    She know where I live

D.    Verb Phrase
Has an ordinary verb. There can also be one or more auxiliaries in front of the ordinary verb.
1.    Forms of  verb phrase
a.    Verb
    Write
    Run

b.    Auxiliary + Verb
    Is cooking
    Has written

c.    Modal + Verb
    I will go
    Can speak

d.    Verb + preposition
    I think about you
    He keep on moving

e.    Infinitive phrase
    To watch TV study
    To respect our parents is our duty

f.    Participle phrase
    I feel asleep watching television

g.    Gerund phrase
    I was angry at being teased

II.    CLAUSE
A group of words which has subject and predicat.
 
Kind of  Clause
A.    Noun Clause
B.    Adjective  Clause
C.    Adverb Clause

A.    Noun Clause
Is a group of words which contains a subject and a predicate of its own, and does the work of a noun.
1.    Forms of noun clause
a.    Noun clause with question word
    I do not know where she live
    I cannot understand what he said
b.    Noun clause begin with if or whether
    She wondered whether her old boyfriend got married.
    They do not know if Maria is at home or not.
c.    Noun clause which begin with that
    I think Ms. Rita is a good teacher
    We hope that our lecture is not often in absence anymore.

2.    Function of  noun clause
a.    Subject
    What you said made the crowd angry

b.    Subject complement
    That noise is the dog crying in his crate

c.    Direct object
    I would hate for you to get sick.

h.    Object complement

i.    Indirect object

j.    Prepositional complement

k.    Adjective phrase complement
    He is happy that he learning English

B.    Adjective Clause
1.    Forms of relative Clause
a.    Who
    Rani who use pink blues, is my sister
    The man who steals my purse is you

b.    Whose
    The boy whose book is big, is my brother
    The man whose father is teacher, is my friend

c.    Whom
    Siska whom you meet, is my friend
    The woman whom I saw is my teacher

d.    Which
    A book which is big, is mine

e.    Where
    Medan is a beautiful place where I was visited

2.    Problem in relative clause

C.    Adverb Clause
1.    Kinds of Adverb Clause
a.    Adverb clause of place: where, wherever, anywhere and everywhere
    I will live where you live

b.    Adverb clause of time: before, since, until, while, when, whenever
    Do it before you forget

c.    Adverb clause of reason: because, as, since and now that
    Since you swear to served me faithfully, I will employ you.

d.    Adverb clause of condition: if, unless, only if, even if, in case, and in the event that.
    If it rains we shall stay at home

e.    Adverb clause of supposition: although and though
    I used to read a lot although I don’t get much time for books now.

f.    Clauses of  Manner: as and like
    Don’t treat me like you treat a slave

g.    Clauses of Purpose: so that, and in order that
    He drew his sword that he might defend himself
 
h.    Clauses of Contrast: while and whereas
    His brother is rich, whereas he is poor

f.    Clause of result or consequence
    He spoke in such a low voice that view could hear him

REFERENCE

Azar, Betty Schrampfer. Understanding and Using English Grammar. America: Printed in the united state, 1999.
Martin and wren. English Grammar & Composition.  
Murphy, Raymond. English Grammar In Use. Published by the press syndicate of the university of Cambridge.
http://www.brighthub.com/education/languages/articles/38392.aspx#ixzz1ZKWfRt99

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Noun_phrase

Categories: Uncategorized | Tinggalkan komentar

Navigasi pos

Tinggalkan Balasan

Blog di WordPress.com.

